head head

London Heathrow International Airport (UK)

London Heathrow International Airport (IATA: LHR, ICAO: EGLL) is one of the six airports that’s serve London City and the greater London area. The others are Stansted, Southend, London City Gatwick and Luton. Of the six however, only Heathrow and London City are located within Greater London area. Heathrow is located some 23 km toward west of London within the neighbourhood of Longford, Cranford, Hatton, Hounslow Harlington, Bedfont and Stanwell among other neighbourhoods. The airport serves over ninety airlines that fly to and from 170 international destinations. In addition to being home to British Airways, the airport is also used by Virgin Atlantic as a base.
Heathrow has five terminals in total. Opened in 1968, the 803,000 sq. ft-floor space is set to be closed down in 2016 for major refurbishment. Terminal 2 is a newly built terminal having been opened in June 2014. Terminal 3 (Oceanic Terminal) that was opened in 1961 is dedicated to serving long-haul flights. The terminal is also set for major refurbishment. It currently has 1,065,220 sq. ft of floor space and handles over 19 million passengers annually. Toward the south of the airport’s southern runway near the cargo terminal is Terminal 4 that is connected to terminals 1, 2 and 3 by Heathrow Cargo Tunnel. The terminal was opened in 1986 and has 1, 135 390 sq. ft of floor space. Located between southern and northern runways is Terminal 5 that was opened in 2008. The terminal has several concourses with concourse A on the main terminal having a floor space of 300,200, 000 sq. ft.
In addition to necessary facilities that any traveler would access at an international airport, passengers passing through Heathrow also have access to a free church, chaplains of different denominations, a multi-prayer room and a counseling room every terminal. In addition, the airport has resident press corps.